Edmonton Section Members Recognized With ACC National Awards!

Back in December, eight exceptional volunteers were nominated for the ACC’s national-level leadership and service awards. We are thrilled to announce that all of these nominations were successful! Read below for details and some highlights from their nomination entries.

The Silver Rope for Leadership Award was awarded to both Robert Denson and Rick Checkland, for demonstrating technical skills and leadership abilities of a high caliber in mountaineering (alpine, ice, rock, and ski), over many years. Both are past recipients of the Eric Brooks Leadership Award. Rob, an active trip coordinator for 8 years now, is described as “a strong technical leader within the Edmonton Section [with] skills that match or exceed some of the highest standards within the Alpine Club”. Rick is “recognized for his lifelong contribution to the technical aspects of mountaineering. He has taken his high caliber experience and has given back to the club and the mountaineering community for over 40 years”.

The Eric Brooks Leader Award is presented to members who have demonstrated a strong, consistent commitment to learn and apply technical and leadership skills in mountaineering, usually for a period of less than 5 years. This year’s recipients include Thomas McElroy, Steven Rockarts, and Paul-Emile Trudeau. The Edmonton Section is privileged to have such leaders in its ranks!

The Distinguished Service Award has been awarded to John Booth, for giving outstanding service to the ACC in “matters other than mountaineering” for a period greater than 5 years. Described as “a great mentor to many aspiring hikers, scramblers, rock climbers and ice climbers”, John’s award recognizes his central role in organizing the Edmonton Section Summer Mountaineering camp for over 20 years and instructing on the Summer in the Mountains course for 10 years. He is also a past recipient of the Don Forest Service Award.

The Don Forest Service Award has been award to Donna McColl and Lil Lezarre, for their significant service to the Edmonton Section. Donna and Lil were co-creators of two women-only programs We Women Rock and Chicks with Picks, which have provided an ongoing opportunity “to empower women by increasing their confidence and abilities in their rock and ice climbing skills”. Donna, described as “a woman of integrity and authenticity with great visionary qualities”, is recognized for “showing her commitment to the section and her desire to be a part of something larger than her own needs and goals”. Lil “has been one of the main contributors to the Edmonton section and is a big part of why our section is as vibrant and cohesive as it is…[her] legacy is one of supporting all members who are interested in mountain activities, as well as recognizing all who volunteer for the club.”

Awards will be presented at the Summer BBQ (June 20). Come out and help congratulate these awesome volunteers!

Special thanks to the Edmonton members who prepared these nominations: David Zemrau, Foster Karcha, Konstantin Stoletov, Craig Hartmetz, Kirk Bishop, Jackie Pearce, Ann Revill, and Dustin McLachlan.

Anyone can nominate an exceptional ACC member for a national award! More information about each award, along with nomination forms, can be found on the Alpine Club of Canada website. If you have any questions or need any support, I encourage you to contact volunteering@accedmonton.ca to help coordinate your nomination.

Dustin McLachlan

Volunteer Coordinator